2020 Soil Judging has been cancelled due to the virus




Each year the SWCD organizes a soil judging event for all the High School FFA classes in the county.  Schools divide their students into teams of four students.  Each student is scored individually and with either a rural or urban team.


The URBAN event, requires students to answer questions about soil properties, give an overall rating for the land and submit recommended management practices.  The soil properties include slope, landform, flood hazard, soil stability, soil texture, depth to seasonal high water table and depth to bedrock.


The AG event, requires students to answer questions about land description, land capability, land use and recommended conservation practices.  Land description sub-categories include slope, erosion or depth of topsoil, texture of surface soil, depth of soil and natural drainage ability.

Individual Winners - Urban                                                                          Individual Winners - Ag

1st - Jessica Greiwe - Wapak FFA                                                                1st - Ben Steinke - New Bremen FFA

2nd - Maggie Schultz - Wapak FFA                                                               2nd - Rachel Brown - New Bremen FFA

3rd - Conner Guthrie - Wapak FFA                                                              3rd - Grant Childress - Wapak FFA

Top Team - Wapak #8                                                                                  Top team - Minster #2

    Jessica Greiwe                                                                                               Jenna Heuker

    John Buchanan                                                                                              Jacob Hueker

    Olivia Barhorst                                                                                               Maria Dirksen

                                                                                                                           Luke Ripploh

                                  CONGRATULATIONS TO THE WINNERS!!

Congrats to those that placed at Districts:

AG:   Jenna Heuker, Josie Reinhart, Hannah Kramer, Maria Dirksen, Grant Childress, Rachel Brown, Alexis Copeland, Ashton Ritter, Grant Wendeln, Sam Werling, Katie Howell, Chase Couse, Jacob Heuker, Eliah Tangeman, Zach Bertke

Urban:  Trent Roetgerman, Phil Trzaska, Adam Ketner, Connor Albers, Jessica Griewe, Bryce Barhorst, Noah Plieman

Wapak FFA - Urban

Wapak FFA - Ag

Minster FFA - Urban

Minster FFA - Ag

New Bremen FFA